11.18.2020 Back to News

8 Methodist Nurses Are Finalists for March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards

Each year, March of Dimes (MOD) hosts its annual Nurse of the Year Awards to celebrate nursing excellence and recognize leaders in nursing across Nebraska and Iowa.

This year the MOD received a record 321 nominations across 22 nomination categories. Of those nominations, eight Methodist nurses were selected as finalists for their category.

Methodist Finalists

The following Methodist nurses were announced as finalists on Oct. 23.

Family Nominated

Brent Hannah, 7 North Critical Care, Methodist Hospital

Long-Term Care/Post Acute

Wendy Rix, Dunklau Gardens


Sheri Cunningham, 5 South Short Stay, Methodist Hospital
Tori McElligott, 8 South Med/Surg, Methodist Hospital

Public/Community/Home Health & Hospice/Palliative Care

Hilary Applequist, Palliative Care, Methodist Hospital


Courtney Weaver, Nebraska Methodist College

Surgical Services/Procedural Care

Kathleen Kauffman, Surgery, Methodist Women's Hospital

Women’s Health

Tasha Bang, Labor & Delivery, Methodist Women's Hospital

Congratulations to the nominees and finalists! To watch a recording of the announcement of finalists, click here

Virtual Awards Ceremony

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the 2020 March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Award celebration will be a virtual event. It will occur on Dec. 1, 2020, at 6 p.m. and can be viewed here.

To learn more, go to nurseoftheyear.marchofdimes.org.